Sunday, August 16, 2015 | Petco Park, San Diego, California

Watch it LIVE on
mlb network


2009 Aflac All-American Classic - San Diego

The Classic returned to San Diego and PETCO Park and the game was played in front of a record crowd of 8,027. The All-Americans battled hard to record the first ever tie in the history of the Classic, making the overall series record 3-3-1.

Game MVP and Rawlings Gold Glove Award winner, Tony Wolters had two hits, one of which plated the game tying run in the ninth inning. He also scored twice, stole a base and displayed solid fielding at the short stop position. The nation’s top pitching prospect Jameson Taillon looked the part, as he started the contest for the West and pitched two scoreless innings, while recording four strikeouts.

The East Team trailed from the start. It wasn’t until the eighth inning that the East managed to take the lead as Jacoby Jones knocked in Trey Griffin and Michael Arencibia scored on a wild pitch. East pitchers kept the game close throughout. Kaleb Cowart, DeAndre Smelter, Stetson Allie and A.J. Cole dominated on the mound and kept the game close throughout.

Other notable award winners include Bryce Harper as the Jackie Robinson Player of the Year and Yordy Cabrera as the Home Run Derby Champion.

East Roster

Player Pos. High School Last Drafted Organization
Stetson Allie RHP/IF St. Edwart HS, Ohio 2010 (Rd 2) Pittsburgh Pirates
Zach Alvord IF South Forsyth HS, Ga. 2010 (Rd 18) Atlanta Braves
Michael Arencibia OF Key West HS, Fla. NA NA
Tyler Austin C Heritage HS, Ga. 2010 (Rd 13) New York Yankees
Robert Aviles RHP Suffern HS, N.Y. 2010 (Rd 7) Cleveland Indians
Cameron Bedrosian RHP East Coweta HS, Ga. 2010 (Rd 1) Los Angeles Angels
Yordy Cabrera IF/RHP Lakeland Senior HS, Fla. 2010 (Rd 2) Oakland Athletics
Chevez Clarke OF Marietta HS, Ga. 2010 (Rd 1) Los Angeles Angels
Andrew Cole RHP Oviedo HS, Fla. 2010 (Rd 4) Washington Nationals
Kaleb Cowart IF/RHP Cook County HS, Ga. 2010 (Rd 1) Los Angeles Angels
Reggie Golden OF Wetumpka HS, Ala. 2010 (Rd 2) Chicago Cubs
Conrad Gregor 1B Carmel HS, Ind. 2013 (Rd 4) Houston Astros
Trey Griffin OF Martin Luth King, Jr. HS, Ga. 2010 (Rd 37) Cleveland Indians
Jacoby Jones IF Richton HS, Miss. 2013 (Rd 3) Pittsburgh Pirates
Connor Narron IF Charles B. Aycock HS, N.C. 2010 (Rd 5) Baltimore Orioles
Justin O'Conner IF/RHP Cown Junior/Senior HS, Ind. 2010 (Rd 1) Tampa Bay Rays
Shane Rowland
C Tampa Catholic HS, Fla. 2013 (Rd 20) Cleveland Indians
DeAndre Smelter RHP/OF Tattnall Square Academy, Ga. 2010 (Rd 14) Minnesota Twins
Brandon Stephens C Lassiter HS, Ga. NA NA
Karsten Whitson RHP Chipley HS, Fla. 2014 (Rd 11) Boston Red Sox

West Roster

Player Pos. High School Last Drafted Organization
Krey Bratsen OF Bryan HS, Texas 2010 (Rd 45) Oakland Athletics
Kris Bryant 3B Bonanza HS, Nev. 2013 (Rd 1) Chicago Cubs
Dylan Covey RHP Marantha HS, Calif. 2013 (Rd 4) Oakland Athletics
Kevin Gausman RHP Grandview HS, Col. 2010 (Rd 6) Los Angeles Dodgers
Bryce Harper C Las Vegas HS, Nev. 2010 (Rd 1) Washington Nationals
Jared Lakind OF Cypress Woods HS, Texas 2010 (Rd 23) Pittsburgh Pirates
Matt Lipka IF McKinney HS, Texas 2010 (Rd 1) Atlanta Braves
Marcus Littlewood IF Pineview HS, Ga. 2010 (Rd 2) Seattle Mariners
Michael Lorenzen OF/RHP Fullerton Union HS, Calif. 2013 (Rd 1) Cincinnati Reds
Brian Ragira OF Martin HS, Texas 2013 (Rd 4) San Francisco Giants
Stefan Sabol C Aliso Niguel HS, Calif. 2010 (Rd 17) Atlanta Braves
Josh Sale OF Bishop Blanchet HS, Wash. 2010 (Rd 1) Tampa Bay Rays
Aaron Sanchez RHP Barstow HS, Calif. 2010 (Rd 1) Toronto Blue Jays
Tyler Shreve RHP Redlands East Valley HS, Calif. 2010 (Rd 10) Toronto Blue Jays
Kellen Sweeney IF Jefferson HS, Iowa 2010 (Rd 2) Toronto Blue Jays
Peter Tago RHP Dana Hills HS, Calif. 2010 (Rd 1) Colorado Rockies
Jameson Taillon RHP The Woodlands HS, Texas 2010 (Rd 1) Pittsburgh Pirates
A.J. Vanegas RHP Redwood Christian School, Calif. 2014 (Rd 11) Los Angeles Dodgers
Austin Wilson OF Harvard-Westlake HS, Calif. 2013 (Rd 2) Seattle Mariners
Tony Wolters SS Rancho Buena Vista HS, Calif. 2010 (Rd 3) Cleveland Indians

Game Awards

• MVP Award: Tony Wolters
• Jackie Robinson Award: Bryce Harper
• Home Run Derby Champion: Yordy Cabrera

Statistical Performers

• Hits: Tony Wolters (2)
• Runs: Matt Lipka (2)
• Strikeouts: Jameson Taillon (4 in 2 innings), DeAndre Smelter (3 in 1 inning)

Perfect Game event profile
PGAllAmerican's items Go to PGAllAmerican's photostream